top of page

Ground work - a stepping stone for horses

Following on from last weeks post, I thought I would go over some of the things I do prior to getting on.


As we all know ground work is extremely important and if you want your first ride to be a good one you absolutely have to put the work in on the ground first. It is a great foundation for them and acts as a stepping stone into ridden life!


I will go over an average first couple of weeks, and how I introduce things.There is no time restraints when it comes to backing and some horses may take longer in certain aspects until they're ready to progress to the next step.


  • Lunging

Initially I will start teaching them to lunge in just a head collar and on a small circle, while they learn what I'm asking of them. Just in walk until they get the hang of it, then as they progress and they can maintain a bigger circle without coming in, up to trot and eventually some canter work. I make sure to do lots of transitions whilst lunging including halt. Not just walk for x minutes, trot for x minutes and canter for x minutes. After a few times of lunging I will introduce a roller, not done up too tightly initially. Gradually I will increase the tightness until it is the tightness I would expect to have to use for a saddle. Don't cut them in half!! Over girthing, even with a roller, can cause huge issues and make the horse uncomfortable!


This means I can then start to introduce long reining. Once they have learnt to long rein (as detailed below) I use lunging less, as I prefer to use two lines as I can change the rein and can mix it up a bit more for myself and the horse.


  • Long Reining



Once they are happy with the premises of lunging on a circle in walk, I will introduce a second lunge line with a roller. I still only use a head collar at this stage. I first put the second line over the back rather than behind so that the horse doesn't get frightened or upset about suddenly having another line that is around their bum and would lunge as usual. I will then start long reining from behind, again only in walk, but I can introduce halt transitions and changes of directions etc. which are obviously very important! Once they are really content with a second line, I will start re-introducing work on a circle but with the line now round their back end. Quietly and sensibly and only when they are ready to ensure that they don't get upset. I can now mix between lunging on a circle on both reins and long reining without stopping and swapping lines over. I can do all the movements that I would do whilst riding in walk and trot.


  • In-hand Work



I like to start doing some in-hand work with them as soon as possible. I first start by making sure the horse is actually walking with me, and not leading me about! So many drag you about and go where they want! I usually correct this with r+ or pressure and release depending on the horse. They usually understand very quickly and within a few minutes walk sweetly with me and no longer drag me!


I can then start with some in-hand work. I initially will use either a cavesson or head collar. I like to do this especially with more sensitive horses as it is a good way to introduce the hand where the leg would be and get them used to some pressure in this area. I can start introducing a slight bit of inside bend and will even start some basic lateral work over time. They have usually learnt leg yield and are starting shoulder in before they are backed. It's great for strengthening and suppling the horse!


I may also walk the horse out in hand in this time to get them ready for eventually hacking. It gives me a good idea of their strengths and weakness out on the road and what will need to be worked on in order to hack out under saddle safely in the future.


A mixture of these ground work exercises are done over the first couple of weeks depending on the horses strengths and weaknesses to progress them in the best way, for example one may do more in-hand work than long reining, whilst another does the opposite. I will have started bitting the horse and they may wear a bridle whilst working but won't introduce any pressure on the reins for lunging/long reining or in-hand work just yet.


I know some aim to be onboard in the first week, but it is not how I like to do it. Generally the more solid a horse is in their ground work the easy they will be to ride, not just mentally, but physically, as they will be more supple and strong as well as used to having to stay balanced around corners and on turns for example. They will also understand the aids better and so you are less likely to have a sharp or "lazy" horse.


Usually after 2 weeks (usually less for most horses but I like to allow leeway!) they are ready to wear a saddle comfortably. I will do a later post on the next few weeks soon!


Would you like to see this in video form? Let me know with a comment!



46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page