top of page

Setting This Years Goals

With a fresh year ahead of us (okay 6 weeks already gone!), we all naturally start setting goals for ourselves and our horses. I think it is often the case with us horsey people that we get quite carried away with unrealistic goals and it can then be quite disheartening when we don't get there. I've tried not to fall into this trap this year and have set some small realistic goals for each pony as well as myself!


Something to remember is that everyones goals are relative to them, don't let anyone put you down because you're not aiming to compete at Grand Prix! For me one of my goals is to simply ride more. The winter hasn't been kind to us and trying to fit in all my freelancing work during the limited daylight hours and riding all my own has been nigh impossible. It doesn't seem like that big of a goal, but it's certainly an achievable one and will ultimately help me achieve my other goals!


If your goal is to ride twice a week instead of one, then that's great! If it's to perfect a certain movement, jump a certain height or just hack more, they are all personal goals that relate to you and your horse only! Of course some of us will share goals and aspirations but if we don't it doesn't matter, we shouldn't compare each other)


Setting realistic time scales will also help you reach your goals. Think long and hard about how long your goal might take to achieve, whether your horses or your fitness needs building up first and how long that in itself will take, and even then add a couple of extra weeks. You don't want to be rushing towards a goal because you underestimated how long it would take!


I have already achieved one of my goals this year which was to partake in my first endurance ride. It was so so enjoyable and I loved every minute but it was even more satisfying knowing I could cross off something from my list!


What are some of your goals for this year?

What steps are you going to take to ensure your meet them?

We'd love to hear from you!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page